O Sacred Head Now Wounded

Not many songs bring me closer to the cross than this ancient hymn penned by a shrouded, unknown figure and set to music sometime in around 1600. Bach himself composed the harmony, but the text is what tears at my heart. Thought to have been based somewhat on a poem by Bernard of Clairvaux, the intensely personal nature of the words calls each of us to examine the cross and its implications for our faith, our life.

The final verse begs, “What language shall I borrow, to thank thee dearest friend…Lord let me never, never…outlive my love to Thee.”  If I’m honest I wonder:

  • Is Christ truly my dearest friend?
  • Do I feel a loss for words–that language is inept or even incapable of expressing my gratitude?
  • Is my first and foremost desire to never outlive my love for Jesus?
Fernando Ortega’s version of this song has long been one of my favorites; I’m including it today to speak into the quiet somber of Saturday. The Saturday that has to come before the joy of Sunday. O Sacred Head Now Wounded, by Fernando Ortega
        O sacred Head, now wounded,
	with grief and shame weighed down,
	now scornfully surrounded
	with thorns, thine only crown:
	how pale thou art with anguish,
	with sore abuse and scorn!
	How does that visage languish
	which once was bright as morn! 

	What thou, my Lord, has suffered
	was all for sinners' gain;
	mine, mine was the transgression,
	but thine the deadly pain.
	Lo, here I fall, my Savior!
	'Tis I deserve thy place;
	look on me with thy favor,
	vouchsafe to me thy grace. 

	What language shall I borrow
	to thank thee, dearest friend,
	for this thy dying sorrow,
	thy pity without end?
	O make me thine forever;
	and should I fainting be,
	Lord, let me never, never
	outlive my love for thee.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to O Sacred Head Now Wounded

  1. Julie D. says:

    By far my favorite hymn (and Todd’s too). I cannot read it or sing it or hear it without getting choked up. Have you read “The Gospel Primer” by Milton Vincent? If not, I highly recommend it. I’ve been reading it 5 days a week for the past 8 weeks and it turns me to the Bible, the Gospel, to celebrating and honoring Christ all through my day. There is a section in it that has the Gospel written in poetry form and, like this song, touches my heart like nothing else does. I love reviewing the Gospel every day – it truly changes the focus of my day.

Leave a Reply

