Morning by Morning

This past week while I was stuffing my pie hole with a loaded baked potato at our BSF Fellowship, our leader posed a question:

“Looking back over this year’s study of Isaiah, what do you think the Lord’s been teaching you…or how have you most been convicted?”

I quickly stabbed a small pile of bacon and avoided eye contact, equally needing time to think and not wanting to be labeled as the girl who won’t shut up. No one likes an overambitious “humble” admission.

The women around me offered stories of hardship and trial and shared how God had used the truths of this ancient prophet to shore up their faith, reminding them of his goodness and promises.

I swirled a dollop of butter and sour cream into a tiny puddle; vanilla pudding in the cavern of my starchy volcano.

“What about you, Jane?”

Surveying the room, I sucked in a breath and let the truth spill out.

I need to be more dedicated to consistent Scripture reading. Not because as Christians we “should” or we’re “expected to” or in an effort to keep legalism alive and well. Not because we’re striving for extra points on some mythical God-scorecard or on a heavenly tally sheet–but because reading the Bible reveals the nature of our God and Savior.

How can I, in circumstances of confusion or questioning, find any solid footing if not in God’s Word? Should I depend on my emotions or personal opinions?

How can I, in times of trouble or doubting, find strength in His Promises if I don’t have them hidden in my heart?

After sharing this one of the women told a story of a friend who went to Asia. Upon seeing the face of an American, one of the nationals ran up to her–a complete stranger–and begged her to recite a chapter from the Bible.

The American woman stood on the side of the busy street, enveloped by exhaust fumes and utter disbelief.

“What did you say?” she asked.

“You Americans all have Bibles and we have none! Certainly you must know just one chapter that you can share with us to give us a piece of the Word of God.”

Back in our fellowship group the room fell silent. How many of us could have answered that plea?

Isaiah 50:4 says, “The Sovereign Lord has given me an instructed tongue to know the word that sustains the weary. He wakens me morning by morning, wakens my ear to listen like one being taught.”

My conviction is to live that out.

Morning by morning, day by day, getting up after I’ve fallen, trying again after I’ve failed, but striving always to listen like one being taught.

~~~

How do you make time for God’s Word in your life? Is it a struggle or have you found a way to stay disciplined?

 

This entry was posted in Faith, Following Jesus, God, Growing Pains, Heartbreak, Matters of the Heart, Prayer, Seasons of Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Morning by Morning

  1. bff in IL says:

    LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE it Jane! That particular piece of scripture has struck me as well! Thank you for sharing! Love you!!!

  2. Julie D. says:

    Wow, Jane, I love that verse! I am going to share it right away with my accountability group because we were all just discussing wanting to know more of Christ, memorizing Scripture, reading it more – not because we must check our boxes – but because He wants us to know Him! Curious – have you ever read “Because He Loves Me” by Elyse Fitzpatrick? If not, I highly recommend it. I think you’d love it.

    • heartscape says:

      I’m so glad that verse touched you, Julie! It was so convicting for me and trust it will be for your accountability group as well. I’ll have to request Elyse’s book at the library! Sounds like a good one for a road trip 🙂 Thanks for reading!

  3. mom says:

    What a grand post, Jane!
    We all should have scripture in our hearts and on our mind.
    My love to you!
    Mom

Leave a Reply

