Easy Meal Idea With a Side of Smiles

If you’ve been a long-time reader, you will know that my kitchen prowess is, well, a bit unpolished. That is to say, I should have auditioned for Anne Burrell’s Worst Cook in America. I’m sure I could put on quite a show with my colorful creations.

HOWEVER. In a moment of serendipitous delight, I actually hit one out of the park this past week! Of course the protein was prepackaged and precooked, but hey–once the Costco food testers get you drooling in the aisles, there’s really no turning back.

Here are the details.  Go ahead and add it all to your shopping list:

  • 1 french bread baguette
  • baby spinach
  • sliced tomatoes [I make mine half-moon shaped]
  • dipping herbs + EVOO
  • Amylu’s Chicken Burgers [YUM!!]

I use my lovely new panini press to toast the french bread which has been generously slathered in the EVOO and herbs. Next, to accommodate the size of the “bun” I cut the burgers in half. This is also a tricky portion control stunt I use to reduce my tendancy to strap on the feed bag and go to town.  Last, top with spinach and tomato and BAM! Instant smiles!

I slice my bread on a bias so that the "buns" are bigger

Prepare your dipping sauce to baste the bread

Mmmm! Hot and toasty...

Toss on your chicken burgers for those great grill marks

Garnish...

Enjoy!

 

This entry was posted in Family, Food, Home, Kids, Kitchen/Culinary Woes, Motherhood/Mommy Duties, Things I Love!, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Easy Meal Idea With a Side of Smiles

  1. Julie Roeters/aka grandma says:

    Get out of kitchen Rachel Ray and Martha Stewart…make room for JANE GRAHAM

  2. Mackenzie says:

    I am TOTALLY trying this. Looks Yummy!

Leave a Reply

