Family Friday: Indoor Skeet Shooting

I have to give major props to my husband for this one–it’s totally his brain and creativity that adds so much color and life to our home.  What can I say–he has a PhD. I guess you have to be crazy … colorful to get to that point.

In fact, tonight on Modern Family, one of our favorite shows, Claire said to her son Luke, “Luke, don’t know it’s a rule that you can only have one fun parent?” That’s Brandon, friends.  I’m “fun” in the “let’s have a teachable moment and do something nice for so-and-so” sense of the word.  So if that’s fun, I’m hilarious.

At any rate, Brandon came up with this beauty over Christmas break when our Nerf arsenal was at an all-time high. Walking around like a chew-spittin’, saggy-pants-hikin’, told’ja-so cowboy, he proposed we needed a little indoor skeet shootin’.

Welcome to Kentucky.

This evening proved to be a lot of fun, and I think the take-away for me was just how easy it is to be inventive and creative with stuff you’ve got laying around the house anyway.  In a nutshell, here was the night:

1.  Dad goes to the second story with balloons

2.  Dad drops balloons over the ledge [our 2-story foyer is open]

3.  Kids armed with double-barrelled Nerf guns wait at the ready, aiming for the balloons.

4.  Kid who makes contact with the most balloons wins [daughter who enjoys note-taking will keep score].

and of course, Mom and Mr. Fun give it a whirl, too…

Look at me!  A different kind of “hilarious.”  Try it!

This entry was posted in CRAZY kids, Discoveries, Family, Family Friday, Holidays, Kids, Marriage, Motherhood/Mommy Duties, Play, Random Fun, Seasons of Life, Things I Love!, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Family Friday: Indoor Skeet Shooting

  1. Julie Roeters/aka grandma says:

    Wow, I’m glad I complied with Morgan and stopped at Keegy’s for those ballons. He must have known what you guys had up your sleeves.
    Your children are going to have wonderful childhood memories. There’s always something going on at your house.

  2. Stacy Voisinet says:

    Oh my! That is SO awesome! We have the same Nerf “attire” strung throughout our house, but we have not tested skeet shooting YET! We surely will now, though! Jane, I love your blogs…and the fantastic ideas/etc. that you share!
    Thank you!
    Stacy (Brown)

  3. Kim says:

    I want to know who won… you or Brandon????

  4. Lyndsey says:

    Where have I been? Great new posts…just read through all of them. Love your ideas! Love YOU!

Leave a Reply

