Family Friday: Spiritual Formation

I’ve been thinking about posting this for awhile now, and thanks to the encouragement of a friend am finally getting around to it. This Friday I thought I’d share an idea I had for bringing Scripture into the kitchen–which we all know is where all the action is, and arguably, the heart of the home. The look and specific location of this thing in our kitchen would definitely NOT make the cut on Dear Genevieve or Divine Design, but I think it’s ‘divine’ all the same [terrible pun, I know].

A little background: When our kids were little I’d search the Bible for Scripture passages that could teach a lesson [i.e, “It is good to share what we have”] and were short enough to get caught in the crazy brain of a 3 year old. I’d print them out on cardstock paper, have the kids draw what they think the verse meant on that same paper, and then put them in a binder that we’d look at before bed.  It worked great, and if you’re a mom of young kids I’d still recommend it.

The problem with growing kids is that it becomes–or is becoming in our home–more difficult to sit down together every night without the static of homework and sports and dad being gone. The binder got put in a basket and we started getting it out less and less.  I decided there had to be a better way to get this stuff in front of our kids’ faces and into their hearts.  So here’s what I came up with:

I bought these nifty magnetic ropes from Home & Company [I know…I’m obsessed…] and decided to condense my goals into two parts: 1) here’s what we believe, and 2) here’s how we want to live.

Now when I find those clincher verses I write them out on flashcards and put them up under the appropriate category.  


This way we can reference them during conversations and they see them every time they leave the house and return home again.  And so do I.  Because I don’t know about you, but my Scripture skills can always stand some remediation!

Lastly, the verse that we’re focussing on today [or for us it’s every-two weeks] goes up on the fridge.  We reference it mostly when it comes up in discussion or when it’s a natural teaching moment.  I almost never say, “Ok, kids! Repeat after me!” [unless I’m really torked about something and need drop the holy hammer].  Rather, it’s more something like this:

“Wow, you guys.  Look at this article in the paper today.  The homeless people in our city are really struggling.  Can you even imagine what it would be like to not have a warm home or a place to rest at night?  What do you think we could do to show them kindness and love?”  [more on this specific convo another time].

[Mom, continuing]: “…it reminds me of this verse we’re studying…”

Next to our verse we have our prayer focus.  I blotted out the names we have up there right now to protect privacy, but we talk about it as a family and decide together who we can be praying for in a special way.

And you know what?  Kids get it!  They really do.

Be encouraged, moms and dads and those of you with special kids in your lives.  Your efforts at home–even when they seem to go in one ear and out through a sassy mouth–do matter.  And if you’re walking it–they’ll remember it.

Do you have a great idea to share? Leave a comment or email me privately; maybe I’ll contact you to be a guest blogger for me in a future Family Friday!

This entry was posted in Art/Beautiful Things, crafts, CRAZY kids, Decor/Organizing, Discoveries, Faith, Family, Family Friday, Following Jesus, God, gratitude, Growing Pains, Home, Kids, Matters of the Heart, Motherhood/Mommy Duties, Prayer, Recipe/Kitchen Success!, Seasons of Life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Family Friday: Spiritual Formation

  1. Pingback: Family Friday: Supporting Adoptive Families | Admissions of a Suburban Philosopher

Leave a Reply

