Dare I Put It In Print??

Dear friends and marginally-invested visitors,

It’s time to own up to the truth.  I must remove the mask and costume and be honest: I am a blue-ribbon slacker. You wouldn’t know it to look at me, but I kick butt and take names when it comes to slacking.

Sure, my cupboards are newly organized and my 38-piece set of Snapware is finally put away, but truth be told, I am completely undisciplined. I start things and get distracted by the washing machine beeping and thoughts of seeing John Mayer in my living room in concert. I pause to find a recipe on the internet and end up planning a fictitious vacation to St. Croix. I think about exercising and settle for a quickly-paced trip upstairs to make the bed. Pathetic.

I need to get my poop in a group already!

So!  Along with millions of other slackers who use the onset of a new year to get their life into gear, I am putting some ambitions into print.  Well, I’m putting two ambitions into print because things get real after they’re written down for the world to see.  The rest will be hanging on my bathroom mirror.  No need to raise the bar too high too quickly.

1. I’d like to use this blog as a place for sharing fun family activities.  My husband is pretty creative and I figure sharing his genius is your gain.  So, if you’re looking for ways to enjoy your kids outside of video games and without heavy doses of Day Quil, come back and look for Family Fridays.  I’m hoping to be on the job with this weekly. Please come back and leave your comments! I’d like this blog to be [dare I say it…] helpful, rather than just a collection of my ramblings. There are more than enough ramblers out there.

2.   “Run, Forrest, RUN!” So far in my life I’ve run three 5Ks, and would like to add a 10K to my unimpressive resume this May.  Firming up my gut rolls will be an added benefit if I can ignore the dessert tray in the meantime. If you live in the area and want to join me, I’m aiming to be laced up and jumping around behind the starting line of the Fifth-Third River Bank Run on May 14. Considering my age and the height of my arches, this is a tall order. I’d love to know that I’m not the only crazy person out there, paying to run down the streets of Grand Rapids on Mother’s Day weekend. If you don’t want to join me but would like to submit a great song for my iPod, please leave a comment.  It is decidedly time to expand my hip-hop tunes beyond Gold Digger.

So, there you have it.  What kinds of things are on your list this year?  Will they make it into print?

This entry was posted in Chores/Duties/Jobs, Discipline Issues, Growing Pains, Kids, Music, Nature/Outdoors, Seasons of Life, Silly Lists, Uncategorized, writing/work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dare I Put It In Print??

  1. Kamarah says:

    Great job committing to the goals, Jane!!! The only thing I’m committing to in print is a cleaned out, clutter free, keep-only-what-we-use household!

    And may I suggest the song “Forget You” from the Glee soundtrack for your ipod. Super catchy. 😉 Check out the youtube video to see Gweneth Paltrow sing it on the show: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e1_B9FCZJMA

  2. Lyndsey says:

    You go, girlfriend! River bank run??? You can totally do it…cheering you along the whole way!

  3. Andy says:

    I love the slacker post Jane. You have to embrace that. That is why we made a good, no great teaching team. I have often known that I was world class along those same lines. We were like Kobe and Shaq and if we had a 3rd, we would have been the current Miami Heat.

    People who are too focused rarely have any fun. Gotta ride that ADD lightning at least a little bit.

    • heartscape says:

      Thanks for the affirmation, Andy! I would argue that Lancaster was our third, and that we were the late 90’s version of the Heat 🙂 Those were fun times. Maybe we can slack together this spring break…we just made plans to return to the sandy beaches I love. Can’t wait!! Thanks for reading.

  4. anna says:

    I’m not ready to commit just yet, but I might be at that starting line on May 14th Jane. 🙂 Some song ideas for a great run: “nothing is impossible” by Planetshakers, “Take it all” by Hillsong, “Say so” by Michael Gungor…and lots of other great praise and worship songs! Also,anything by The Black Eyed Peas is perfect for running too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

