Beware: I’m 8 and I have a label-maker

After returning back to headquarters Saturday night with scads of candy, sweaty hair, and cavities at-the-ready, the kids dumped piles of loot on the dining room table and declared victory.

Victory over vegetables, unprocessed food, and moderation in any form.

And at that brief moment when sugary bliss intersects with a primeval need to organize the booty [booty 1 |ˈboōtē|:• informal something gained or won]…THAT is the moment when 8 year-olds reach for the label-maker.

Observe:

1.  Obtain Rubbermaid container for “non-chocolate” items, being careful to sort out any dangerous, braces-endangering objects such as Jolly Ranchers, Laffy Taffy, or worse…the terrifying…DOTS. [cue Jaws music and smoke]

2.  Obtain larger Tupperware container and label with “Chocolate.”  Tip:  “If you don’t know how to spell “chocolate”,  just copy it from the wrapper of your Hershey bar.” Response to said tip:  “Thank you, son. Good to know.”

People, do you SEE this organization??  I know, I know, you may think it a bit Type A. But lest you assume this level of sorting and labeling is a lifestyle, allow me to assure you that indeed, it is NOT. His bedroom is a tornado.  The space under his bed is a private storage bin.  The floor, a dumping ground for wet towels and dirty underwear.

So why this determination on Halloween?  Easy.

“Mom, I take my candy seriously.” [Yes, that is a direct quote!]

I can’t argue with that.



This entry was posted in CRAZY kids, Family, Holidays, Home, Kids, Motherhood/Mommy Duties, Nature/Outdoors, Neighbors, Play, Random Fun, Things I Love!, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Beware: I’m 8 and I have a label-maker

  1. What a proud moment for you. Labels rock. Think how efficiently you can steal a piece of candy. Unlike me, you won’t have to weed through wrappers and half-eaten Tootsie Rolls.

  2. Diane Miller says:

    Love it!!! I so miss working with kids. They truly see the world in a different light.

  3. Lyndsey says:

    That’s why J and I get along so well…we both are passionate about our chocolate:). Love that kid!

  4. Julie says:

    It’s so nice to know that I’m not the only one with a 8 year old tornado bedroom! 🙂 Wish the label making enterprise would spread from chocolate to bedroom somehow. If it does, let me know – I’ll be the first in line to purchase a label maker!

  5. Julie says:

    Glad to hear I’m not the only one with “Eight Year Old Tornado Bedroom” syndrome. Wish the label-making, chocolate sorting enterprise would work in that bedroom. If it does, let me know – I’ll be the first in line to buy a label-maker!

Leave a Reply

