A Lovely and Thankful Wreck

I’ve been a wreck lately.

My emotions on have been arching between profound gratitude to God and utter disbelief and, on the far spectrum, sadness that our kids are growing up so fast.  It seems I’ve been waiting for years for them to gain some independence and strength, and now that it’s here, I find myself staring in the rear-view mirror, searching for scraps of their smallness.  [Moms out there–can I get an ‘amen’?]

At the same time, I’ve been gifted with the most gigantic fluke you can imagine–if you believe in flukes [which, to be honest, I don’t, but this might be the closest I’ve come to considering it].

After working as a lowly creative copy writer for the Longaberger Company for five weeks, some of my projects seem to have sprouted legs and made their way up to the President’s desk [OMG], and then to Ms. Tami Longaberger herself [O.M.G!].  And, as if God decided to puppeteer some cosmic ‘Shazow‘, Tami liked my work.  Loved it, actually.

So…I was asked by her to ghostwrite her book which will hopefully be coming out this fall.

That’s right.

It’s straight up crazy pants. I still think I could be living in some parallel universe somewhere dreaming this all up.  I’m waiting for George Jetson to fly in with Astro and tell me it’s an enormous joke.

The caveat, however beautiful and fantastic this opportunity, is that the entire book is due on May 1.

Of this year.

And we’re leaving for vacation soon.

[searching for an inhaler or strong drink right now…]

I feel just…utterly undone and thankful and speechless at this turn of events.

What is God doing?  What in THEE WORLD??

And so, I sit in the kitchen and stare at the artwork on my fridge wrought by tiny hands and expanding minds, and I’m a wreck.

And I think about this book, and I feel like a poser.  I am not “a real author.”  I am trying to be, but I never thought my trial-run would be working with the owner of a  multi-million dollar company.  So you can imagine, I’m a wreck.

A lovely and thankful wreck.

This entry was posted in Decor/Organizing, Faith, Gifts, God, gratitude, Growing Pains, Home, Kids, Literature/Books, Matters of the Heart, Motherhood/Mommy Duties, Seasons of Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to A Lovely and Thankful Wreck

  1. izziedarling says:

    Wow. You can do it. Can’t believe the deadline – REALLY? No coincidences, God thing for sure. But wow.

  2. val says:

    AMEN to kids growing up way too fast! 😦

    and, WOW! congrats! (and whoa, that IS soon!) you are incredibly gifted with words, Jane. i have known that since the instant i laid eyes on your blog. so, you may not feel like a “real” author (just like i don’t feel like a “real” photographer), but if you’re not yet, sounds like you’re about to be!

    and, if you ever struggle with balancing the first and the second (mom-ness and pursuing another dream), i’m right there with ya, girl.

    so happy to have reconnected, btw. 🙂

  3. Kara says:

    congrats jane! so cool! you will do a great job 🙂

  4. Kim Bahl says:

    Congrats! What a great opportunity… which I am confident you are up to. But holy cow… May 1st. No wonder you are a wreck. Have faith… you can do it! God doesn’t give us more than we can handle… even if sometimes we wonder about that!

  5. Lyndsey Dykstra says:

    Your most obnoxious loud fans are cheering you on all the way from Washington!!! Can you hear us????

  6. Julie D. says:

    Oh my word! I LOVE it and we are cheering with your most obnoxious WA fans here in Belmont! This is SO VERY COOL. Praising God for giving you this great opportunity. And know I’ll be praying about May 1…the WHOLE entire thing, May 1? Really? You go girl…remember, you can do all things through Christ who gives you strength (and amazing book writing opportunities). Keep us posted how we can be praying for you!!

    • heartscape says:

      Thanks for the encouragement, Julie! It means so much! …And between you and Lynds, I’ve practically got a direct line to God–and that never hurts 🙂

  7. Mary DY says:

    I SO know that you can do this! It will be crazy for a month, but everyone over there is resilient. Rely on those grandparents for the short term, and WOW, go for it. Blessings on the project!!

  8. How amazingly awesome Jane! So happy for you, and will pray for balance and a clear, fresh mind!

  9. heartscape says:

    Thanks, Wally! You’re next!!!

  10. Kristin says:

    Wow!
    Amazing when God does stuff like that isn’t it!?

    It reminds me of that scripture
    In his heart a man plans his course, but the LORD determines his steps. (Prov 16:9)
    I had to look it up because I am not too good at memorizing a scripture word for word. lol

    I look forward to hearing more about what He has in store for you!!

    Blessings!
    ~Kristin

  11. Jeff Chapman says:

    Hi Jane,

    We missed you at FFW. How is the writing going? Are you still sane? Best of luck.

  12. Pingback: Yes, I Still Have a Pulse! « Admissions of a Suburban Philosopher

Leave a Reply

