5 Things You Can’t Quit

Last week while furiously peeling potatoes, simultaneously trying not to gore myself with the peeler or drop a starchy, slippery mass down the garbage disposal, I suddenly had a bizarre sort of desperate thought:  “I will be grocery shopping for the rest of my life.  I will use up these potatoes and have to go back to the store, and I will need to grocery shop forever.”

Well, duh.  It’s not the deepest, most philosophical ponderence known to man, but in that moment, I wondered: “How many other things will I have to do — forever??”

So I decided to make a list.  I exempted any and all bodily functions and things that are essential to life itself [i.e., eating, drinking, breathing, using shelter, using the potty, etc.], and here’s what I came up with:

5 Things You Can’t Quit

1.  Clipping Fingernails/Cutting Hair. OK.  If you’re Lee Redmond and you enjoy looking like THIS [see right], you might argue against fingernail clipping, but I’d argue right back that you’re bonkers. And gross.

2.  Using Money. Yes, it’s true: money, the proverbial root of all evil, is a necessity.  And while you may pine for the days of yore when trading glass beads and animal furs was the way to do business,  we’ll ever see those days again.  And really, a pile of animal furs wouldn’t fit in your wallet even if you could get them past the PETA demonstrators.

3.  Grocery Shopping. All of you who have just finished reading Animal, Vegetable, Miracle are ready to send me pointed letters of disagreement [please, do!], however, I would argue that while you may raise your own chicken, pork or beef, and while you may have a garden the size of Delaware, there are some things that you will need to get at the store:

  • salt, pepper, spices [don’t even try to tell me you’re going to grow your own cinnamon]
  • COKE!! coffee, OJ
  • mustard
  • vinegar
  • tuna
  • toilet paper and other “feminine” needs [if you go back to pioneer days — well, see note on Lee Redmond.  Bonkers. Gross.]

4.  Taking Out The Trash/Recycling:  Again, unless you desire to live in a cistern of filth like THIS [see right], I don’t see any way around this one.  Nasty. [PS: if you haven’t checked out A&E’s Hoarders, set your Tivo for Monday nights at 10 pm].

5.  Laundry.  What can I say?  It. Must. Be. Done.  Forever and ever, AMEN.

So what would your list look like?

Please leave a comment with the “5 Things You Can’t Quit”, as you see it.

This entry was posted in Chores/Duties/Jobs, Decor/Organizing, Home, Kitchen/Culinary Woes, Motherhood/Mommy Duties, Random Fun, Silly Lists, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 5 Things You Can’t Quit

  1. smalltownsmalltimes says:

    1. Having friends – I get nutty when I’m alone too long.
    2. Reading/Being read to – My brain needs somewhere to rest after all that crazy thinking.
    3. Brushing my teeth – so as to not lose friends (see #1).
    4. Twisting my hair – no matter hard much I try, I can’t keep my fingers out of my hair. It’s a ditsy habit, but it relaxes me like nothing else.
    5. Making beds – I know I could quit this, but I don’t want to. I love getting into a bed that’s made. Just the ritual alone of peeling back the covers makes me shiver. Mmmmmm.

    • heartscape says:

      Great list, Jodi! I can’t believe I didn’t think of brushing my teeth!! And I agree about making beds–I love fresh, smooth sheets! Thanks for the comment 🙂

  2. Kathy Schoon Tanis says:

    1. giving/getting hugs/kisses.
    2. praying, even if it’s “please help, please help, please help…”
    3. washing dishes
    4. i’ll repeat the doing laundry/making the bed thing
    5. walking/running/swimming/twirling (we are really into twirling/spinning/dancing right now!)

    this was AWESOME! thanks for posting this. i’m sure i’ll have another list of 5 in an hour. (;

  3. kara says:

    1- brushing my teeth
    2- kissing my hubby
    3- getting my hair cut
    4- learning
    5- believing by the grace of God

    loved this post jane!

    • heartscape says:

      Kara! I love your list! As I said to another commenter, I can’t believe I didn’t think of brushing my teeth. Sometimes I have an imaginary thought that I’m on Survivor and I have to choose one item to bring. It always comes down to toothpaste and chap stick. Chapped lips with no relief is a personal hell, if you ask me. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

