Yoga With Kids is Soooo [NOT] Relaxing…

Yoga.  The word, even to non-practicers, seems to evoke a sense of calm and relaxation.  It conjures up images of super-fit Californians poured into black yoga pants, lean muscles taught and glistening on some Pacific cliff overlooking the gorgeous, sparkling ocean.  The instructor’s voice floats over the sound of waves, cooing in a soft, 1-900 style tone:

“Let your body just siiiinnnkkkk into the mat.  Block out all distractions and focus on your breathing.  Yeeesssss.  That’s goooood….”

Despite my former dedication to such teachers, lately I’ve been sitting and watching their DVDs from the comfort of our couch, eating a handful of Oreos Veggie Straws and trying desperately to suck in my gut before someone asks me when when the baby’s due.

I’m sure you can’t relate.

Well this morning, after being encouraged and motivated by Poppy, the wonderful author of “Yoga is Yummy”, I decided to get with the program.  Still in PJ’s and lacking the proper elasticized breast-hoisting mechanism, I popped in [my secret boyfriend] Bob Harper’s Weight Loss Yoga DVD, straightened my spine and tried to get “in the zone.”

With kids fighting in the background.

With my son running back and forth across the fireplace hearth positively BAWLING because he didn’t have anyone to play Duck Duck Goose with.

With my son then crawling under my belly as I trembled and moaned in plank position.

And as he continued to weave in and out of my legs while I contorted into twisting triangle.

Ahhhhh.  The picture of harmony and calm!

Finally, by some stroke genius and good fortune, I convinced both kids that Duck Duck Goose is a washed up, repetitious game for toddlers, and that they too should enter this world of serenity with me.

And can you believe — IT WORKED!

Despite my floor space being stolen and my energy now focused on capturing the fun on my camera, we actually had a great time together.

Who knew that yoga with kids could be so….relaxing?  😉

This entry was posted in CRAZY kids, Discoveries, Education, Family, Fitness, Home, Kids, Motherhood/Mommy Duties, Play, Random Fun, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Yoga With Kids is Soooo [NOT] Relaxing…

  1. Brooke G. says:

    I can totally picture this scene happening at my house. I occasionally try to use the treadmill and squeeze in a few yoga/pilates moves and my two little guys are tugging on me, sitting on me and whining. I never thought about getting them to do it WITH me. You could be onto something!!!!!

    • heartscape says:

      Brooke-
      Try counting out loud and see if they can hold a pose for 5 seconds [or whatever their skill level]. Especially for boys, as soon as it’s a contest they’re sold! Let me know if it works 🙂 Thanks for reading!

  2. Mary DY says:

    Jane, you are always onto something!! Love the pics of those cuties.

Leave a Reply

