Quote, Unquote

Tonight I walked my oldest son to his room to spend a little time with him before bed.  He treasures these moments–almost longs for them in the way that I long for chocolate desserts and the pleasure of new slippers.  He thinks of all kinds of off-the-wall topics to discuss and touches my face and pats my shoulders.  I love it.  I love it because it is so purely J and because I know it won’t last forever.

I lay down on the bed next to him briefly, staring up at the ceiling and enjoying the familiarity of our old mattress.  J asked me to tell him stories about when I was little [which I deferred to grandma, who will be coming over tomorrow with photos in tow.]   I turned to face him in the dusky dim, rubbed his back and said, “Oh, I just love you, J.  You’re my big boy.”

To which he, ever lovingly responded, “I love you, too.  You’re my big mama.”

This entry was posted in Family, Gifts, gratitude, Home, Kids, Matters of the Heart, Motherhood/Mommy Duties and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Quote, Unquote

  1. Sarah Giere says:

    Nice! Reminds me of the other day when, as I was getting dressed, my sweet 6 yr old patted my tummy and said, “Hey chubby.” Thankfully I was in a good mood and could laugh it off, but OH MY WORD! :O)

  2. kamarah says:

    OH —- sniff sniff!!! These days are passing too quickly!!! Sweet J!!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. smalltownsmalltimes says:

    Ain’t nothin’ wrong with being a “Big” Momma that is loved so dearly.

  4. Mary DY says:

    He’s just repaying that compliment he got…love him!!!

  5. GapGirl says:

    OH how precious!!!!
    XoxoGapGirl

  6. Adrienne says:

    That is so sweet. It is cute how kids so things.

  7. Jenny in Ca says:

    sweet memories, even the funny ones that in another world would be a put down!

Leave a Reply

