Introducing: Kitchen Salvation!

rylandpeters.com

This past week I went to Chicago for a concert and some GREAT FOOD with one of my best friends.  We were introduced to Roy’s: Hawaiian Fusion Cuisine last month by another mutual best friend, and to someone like myself especially [read: kitchen disaster], the food can literally make you hallucinate colors and sensory delights that shouldn’t be allowed.  Really–it’s that good. They have this sushi that is worth the drive from Michigan to partake of–and normally, sushi doesn’t do much to blow my skirt up.  HOWEVER.  Here’s how the menu describes it:

Lakanilau Roll

Seared Kobe Beef wrapped around Snow Crab, Tempura Asparagus
and Avocado

Take a moment.  Let that all sink in.

Then, for dinner, we split this:

Roy’s Classic Roasted Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi

Lobster Cognac Butter Sauce

Aahhhhh.  I took pictures with my flash-less camera phone, and they just don’t do justice to these sacrificed vegetables and proteins, so I’ll spare you.  At any rate, next time you’re in Chicago and want to treat yourself [read: $$$], make a reservation and prepare for a party unlike any your mouth has known.

Now back to the original post I was going to write when I sat down here…

We had some time to kill so we wandered down to my favorite store on Michigan Avenue: Crate & Barrel.  If you’ve never been to a C & B, perhaps you don’t know that they house everything-you-never-knew-you-needed.  All things cute!  All things seasonal!  Most things, I’ll admit, unnecessary.  Like these:

WitchHatMugsF9

and this…HalloweenHotCocoaF9

Still, I love the store, and although I didn’t purchase either of these adorable Halloween items, I did find [drum roll, please]…A NEW COOKBOOK!!! The image of the book is above, as you’ve no doubt seen, and the name is:  The Student Cookbook:  Great Grub for the Hungry and the Broke. While I’m technically not a student anymore, I do like “great grub”, I am hungry, and we’re approaching broke.  Perfect!

My girlfriend and I perused the recipes and immediately found several we thought were kid-friendly, looked good, and seemed easy enough to prepare.

So, this week, my menu plans include six new recipes!  Ambitious, I know, but following my “Pantry Challenge” that I explained before, I only spent $94 on groceries!  Without coupons!  I was thrilled.

Here are some of the things I’ll be trying:

Pg. 45:  Sesame sweet potato wedges with “nutty dipping sauce” [+ hamburgers]

Pg. 30:  Little fried fresh mozzarella and tomato sandwiches

Pg. 46:  Rosemary potatoes roasted with garlic [+ my meatloaf, which actually gets “thumbs-up” all around 🙂 ]

Pg. 97:  Fish cakes with [pg. 50] Three cheese Broccoli  [do these go together??]

Pg. 98:  Bang Bang Chicken, which is an Asian salad with a sesame/peanut butter/soy dressing.

So!  Wow!  I’m getting nervous already, but I’m equally excited.  The Bang-Bang Chicken photo looks amazing, and I’m starting to wonder why I scheduled it for Saturday…I don’t want to wait all week!

Still, I’m trying to make this purchase “worth it” by really using it.  Wringing it out.

I’ll let you know how things go with me, the prep work, the cooking, and of course, my toughest critics [aged 7, 6, and almost-4].


This entry was posted in Chores/Duties/Jobs, Family, Food, Friends, Home, Kids, Kitchen/Culinary Woes, Motherhood/Mommy Duties, Random Fun and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Introducing: Kitchen Salvation!

  1. Mary DY says:

    Two stories from Roy’s…and yes, it is fabulous food!

    Michael worked for about 1.5 years as a “server’s assistant” at the Roy’s in Orlando. His job was backing us two servers by filling water glasses, clearing tables, refolding napkins for folks who wandered to the bathroom…

    We ate there a couple of times, and were fortunate to have Mike’s employee discount to help us–with four, we needed it!! One question–did you have the chocolate souffle for desert? Oh my goodness…I have that recipe.

    Story 2: During the presidential campaign, the Obamas were being stalked on the “might announce VP” weekend. They were shown on TV coming out of the Roy’s in Chicago. So you have presidential tastebuds!

    Sue C used to publish a “cookbook” periodically (every 3-4 years) . She solicited “my kids will eat this recipes” from friends and then photocopied. If you contributed, you got a copy. Some pretty good standbys there as well.

    Hugs, M

  2. Brian Giere says:

    Love it Jane!! So glad you enjoyed Roy’s again…I’m just sorry I missed it! My mouth is watering right now thinking about the sushi!!! I can’t wait to hear how your new cooking adventures go! Great job trying to please the oh-so-hard-to-please fam! :O)

  3. Spuds says:

    Made one of your recipes for the 6 angry pygmies and it was a HUGE success!

    Great Blog, too!

  4. smalltownsmalltimes says:

    I love Roys…I had a pineapplie martini I will never forget, and skatewing that made me weep it was sooooo good.. The book looks good. I’ll be waiting for the results of your week since we have been spending about $250 a week in groceries thanks to an over-priced D&W 10 minutes from my house.

    Glad I’m not the only one weeping for love of amazing food! D & W: great store, but yes–get ready to take out a second mortgage on your home. Pricey! I used to go there but force myself to endure the mobs at Meijer now. Then I reward myself with a donut 🙂

Leave a Reply

