Things I Don’t Understand Thursday: Christmas in SEPTEMBER?!

clip_image005_2Poor Baby Jesus.

“Dear 8 pound, six ounce newborn infant Baby Jesus.  Don’t even know a word yet.”

It’s bad enough that our society has gone to epic proportions to exploit his birth after Thanksgiving, but NOW we have to walk into our local Costco and be visually assaulted with artificial trees and gold foil wrapping paper on Labor Day.

I do not pretend to understand this.

In fact, I find it offensive because it ruins the specialness of Christmas. And I don’t even care if that’s not a real word.   I haven’t even mentally left summer!  I haven’t been apple picking! I don’t have my harvest decorations up! I haven’t discussed Halloween costumes with our children!

To add a little vinegar to the baking soda [= explosion, in case you’ve never tried it], the catalogs are starting to roll in.  The ad execs are no doubt counting their money in neat little piles like Ebenezer Scrooge, drooling over the prospect of a fruitful shopping season that will pull us, definitively, out of a recession.  Whatever.

In fact, yesterday we got a cozy little slice of marketing heaven:  The Company Store advertising free monogramming on select items as their “Happy Holidays” gift.  Don’t forget–Hurry!  Offer expires 10/14/09!

‘Ya know what I want to say?

I want to say, “CALM DOWN, PEOPLE.”

Live in this moment–this season, for crying out loud.

Enjoy fall.

Relish the colors, the changing leaves, the coolness of the evening air, the morning mist.

Delight in the unmistakably fall smell of apples baking.  Of spicy pies.  Homemade applesauce.

Shiver through a football game and remember the days of rooting for your boyfriend [now husband] who’d claw through the painted yardlines and rise up, smiling that boyish grin, captivated by something absolutely synonymous with autumn.

And ‘ya know what else?

DON’T RUSH ME.

Let me hold these days and drift through them with the kind of ease that comes when you’re over 30 and better understand the precious nature of time and season.

Let me sit in the quiet and admire God’s creativity.  His beauty.

Let me marvel at how so many colors can be captured on one single leaf.  And how pumpkins are the same–yet different.  How apple cider slides down warm, allowing you to pinpoint its exact location until it pools in your stomach like liquid comfort.

And let me enjoy Christmas when it’s Christmas.  After the snow flies and we’ve celebrated the harvest with turkey and mashed potatoes.  When you can count the days with numbers instead of months.

Because don’t you agree?  Christmas doesn’t belong in September.

Please do me the honor of leaving a comment if you share this perspective!  Also, thanks again to Kamarah for the great photo.

This entry was posted in Decor/Organizing, Family, Holidays, Home, Nature/Outdoors, Rants, Seasons of Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Things I Don’t Understand Thursday: Christmas in SEPTEMBER?!

  1. kamarah says:

    PREACH IT SISTER!!!! This drives me NUTS!!!!! Let’s live in the moment and enjoy each season as it comes!!! Well said Jane. 🙂

  2. Sarah says:

    Seriously! I love Christmas, but I love it in December!!!

  3. Pingback: StarryGift | Wedding gifts and collectibles of Chinese and Western styles

  4. Julie D. says:

    A hearty AMEN from me on this one! Nicely said!

  5. val says:

    yes, i agree it is despicable. i hate it. a while back i picked up a book called “unplug the christmas machine” – would you like to read it with me and discuss?

  6. smalltownsmalltimes says:

    Gorgeous. I don’t know how you find these words. Where can I find words them?

    I didn’t go to church today. I haven’t gone in a very long time but It looks like church found me this morning with this post. Thank you.

  7. smalltownsmalltimes says:

    Okay — my kitty is playing with the cord to my mouse which means I can’t edit sentences properly because i’m in a hurry (see above). Hopefully you get what I meant with the question about the words.

Leave a Reply

