“Things I Don’t Understand” Thursdays: Kitchen Tornadoes

It seems like I spend most of my time in the kitchen.  You can’t relate…can you?

Breakfast prep and cooking.

Breakfast clean-up…but wait…the dishwasher needs unloading first.

What?  A mid-morning snack?  Let me just get that for you…and your five friends…

Lunch prep, clean-up, etc.

And on and on it goes.

Throw in a craft project, trying to unpack groceries, your husband returning hungry from work, washing and chopping vegetables, getting dinner ready, and… wallah!  You’ve got this:

IMG_2898

It is at this precise moment that we generally get unexpected visitors from people like Oprah and the President of Bolivia.  Neighbors want to come in to use our countertops to arm wrestle.  Daughters want their nails polished at Mom’s Salon.

Sure!  Just push the piles of crap aside, and do what needs doin’.  IMG_2900

What is it about the kitchen and why is it so deathly hard to keep clean?!

Well, obviously for most people, it is the heart of the home.  It’s nurturing.  A natural gathering point.  A place of comfort [cookies] and refuge [hot chocolate after sledding].  Good smells come from the kitchen.  I’ve heard that good eats come from the kitchen…when other people cook.

Because the kitchen is full of so much life and love and warmth, you’d think I’d do a better job of keeping it tidy.  But friends, here I am writing while the dishes are splayed all over, the sink full of pots, splatters on the stove, and for some reason I’d just rather ignore it for a little longer.

Do you ever have those days?

Yes, it bothers me.  I don’t like it when my flip-flops stick to the floor.  I don’t like chunks of food left under the island–our dog should really take care of those, after all.  I don’t like the tacky feeling left on the stools by little hands that need washing.  I don’t particularly enjoy sudsing up a bowl of Murphy’s to wipe down the cabinets.  The smell is great–don’t get me wrong–but it just takes so much time.  I feel like I don’t have the energy.

IMG_2894Of course the kids don’t seem to care.  Maybe by the time they’re bringing home dates [Heaven help us] or trying to impress their study group they will.  Maybe they’ll get annoyed when they plop their arm into a fresh puddle of sauce–right before their choir concerts.  But until then, I’ll continue to balance cleaning and playing, cooking and scrubbing.  Because judging from this face, in the scope of life, it doesn’t really matter all that much.

This entry was posted in Decor/Organizing, Family, Food, Friends, Home, Kids, Motherhood/Mommy Duties, Neighbors and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Things I Don’t Understand” Thursdays: Kitchen Tornadoes

  1. suratem says:

    Your blog very useful information for me.Thanks for useful information

    SurateM

  2. Lyndsey Dykstra says:

    I think this is my fave post so far…so true it’s not even funny! (and yet, somehow you make it HYSTERICALLY funny!

Leave a Reply

