“Things I Don’t Understand” Thursday: Cash for Clunkers

I know–I’m chastising myself–believe me.  I promised you that this week I would share my own self-deprecating bad habit that, despite living in my own body for all these years, I still don’t understand.  But tonight I’m so short-wired and frustrated I just can’t even find the energy to upload the pictures and try to be funny.

Instead, let me spew some venom on this once-blessed, now-cursed Cash for Clunkers program.  The man on the radio today said it’s been one of the most successful stimulus plans to date.  While this may be true, we are getting our rears handed to us with a red bow attached by some faceless website manager who works for the government, thank you very little. I’ve spent this entire week on the phone, driving 45 miles away three separate times, visiting the Secretary of State office, calling my insurance lady [Pam, you’re awesome], calling my old insurance lady for proof that we’ve always insured our car, going to the bank to have the lien on our title signed away, emailing the credit union and going there to see the loan officer–WITH THREE KIDS IN TOW as you might have read about yesterday–only to have the rug yanked out from underneath us.

Because why?

Because the people in charge of this program have found a way to say that our 1999 Suburban 4×4 is *not* eligible.

In plain English, here’s a snippet of the email I got:

“The 99 Suburban 4 WD has a GVWR less than 8500 lbs, but a curb weight over 6000 pounds.  Therefore, it is classified as a heavy-duty vehicle and therefore not subject to fuel economy labeling requirements which is why you don’t see it on the CARS.gov web site.”

Ohhhhhh!!  Right!!  Why didn’t I think of that?!  Silly me!

Now, never-you-mind that a year 2000 or 2001 will be accepted, but my 1999 “heavy-duty vehicle” is rejected.

Splendid.  This logic makes not sense at all to me.  While I sit here trying to figure it out, I’m pretty sure I’ve developed a bowel obstruction, an ingrown toenail, and some sort of dandruff.

So friends and readers, next week we’ll get into the grit of my bad habits and, let me tell you, I’ve got some great pictures that may or may not be considered blackmail material at some point.

But today, this is all I can think about.  Today this is what I truly don’t understand.

PS:  Do you have your own Cash for Clunkers story to tell?  Please share!!

This entry was posted in Finances, Vehicles and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Things I Don’t Understand” Thursday: Cash for Clunkers

  1. rjjrdq says:

    You’re not alone. Apparently the government couldn’t figure out the program either.

  2. Clothing says:

    Wow! Its imposible… I’m realy shocked :/

Leave a Reply

