Fill It Up Again

I’m borrowing this title from the Indigo Girls who, if I believed in reincarnation, I would totally want to be in my next life–at least musically speaking.  Their guitar playing–to die for; their poetry–kills me; their harmony–makes my heart stop with its aching beauty.  Since I do not believe in reincarnation, I’m choosing to believe that Jesus might give me their guitar skills if I promise to use them to be part of the praise band in Heaven.  We’ll see how that works out.

Anyway, the title is a song from a couple of albums ago and it has a line that I really love:  “…but the new road is an old friend…”

Tonight I can’t sleep because we’re going on vacation tomorrow.  Or, since it’s well past midnight, I guess we’re leaving today.  We’ve been planning this trip since December, and now it hovers closely like darkness coming over the sky–so close it seems I can almost touch it.

I’m looking forward to new roads and new landscapes.  I can’t wait to feel the Pacific splashing against my ankles and smell the salt hanging heavy in the air.  Something inside me leaps when I realize that next week we’ll be hiking through mountains filled with wild flowers and animals that roam freely.  I’m so excited to watch the changing expressions on the faces of our children as they absorb the beauty and the newness of another state.Paradise(MtRainier)

Because I love traveling, for me the new road is an old friend.  In a few days I’ll be able to cozy up to that old friend and learn all the secrets it has been storing up for me; talk to it without saying a word.  Experience roads that few take, stand as a witness to places few have seen, admire creatures and creation living in unity.   Life filled up, again.

This entry was posted in Family, Nature/Outdoors, Travel, Vacation and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

