Flab Control

Memorial Day | Pre-race

Memorial Day | Pre-race

You see, I’m not actually a runner.  I’m a poser of sorts.  A mom just trying to keep the flab under control long enough to make it through another bathing suit season.  When I was in labor for our first son, the nurse took my blood pressure [which is famously low] and just stared at the numbers.  “Wow.” She said.  “Are you a runner?  Do you run marathons?” I about spewed my epidural.  Ask anybody who has known me for longer than 9 months, and they’ll tell you.  Me running marathons is about as likely as me winning Top Chef with camping gear.

No, I’m not actually a runner.  But I do like the cute clothes that you get to buy if you’re willing to spend the money and want to get high-tech.  Note that I’m not wearing anything high-tech.  I’m sporting a pair of $19 ‘work-out capris’ from Gap and a shirt I got from Voice of the Martyrs.  Not exactly what you’d call ‘wicking’ material.  I’m blaming my time on that.

I ran in my first 5K last fall and just finished another one on Memorial Day with my BNE. I’m always amazed when I can run 3 miles without falling over, crying, fainting, or barfing in someone’s lawn.  In Cold Tangerines, Shauna Niequist talks about how for so long she abused her body or took it for granted.  How she overlooked the mystery and majesty of health and parts that work and grow.  Once she got pregnant and saw how her body–that same taken-for-granted body–nourished a new life, her perspective totally changed.  She appreciated it again.  She was thankful for it.

That’s how I feel when I run.  Despite my knees that crunch and sports bra that doesn’t quite get the job done, I feel strong.  I feel powerful.  For me it’s a real sense of accomplishment to finish a race and not have to stop to walk because it’s doing something I didn’t think I could do.   I’m not at all like those tanned gazelle-like size 4 girls who are fresh out of college and run 2 miles before the race as a warm-up.  Spare me.  No need for craziness at 8 a.m.

But I am out there, trying, and later this month, Lord willing, I’ll do another one.  My goals are simple:

1.   Finish

2.  Run the entire race

3.  Finish in under 30 minutes.

There it is!  In print!  There will be a whole slew of other moms and friends out there with me, conquering fears, overcoming obstacles, and doing what they didn’t think they could do.

So cheers to all you actual runners and all you wannabe’s like me.  Get a shirt that wicks and bra that works…and hit the road.

This entry was posted in Fitness, Random Fun. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Flab Control

  1. Sarah says:

    You go girl! Don’t be fooled…if you can run a 5K, I think you ARE a runner! Be PROUD! Can’t wait to hit the road w/ you in a few weeks! I better get my rear in gear!!!

  2. heartscape says:

    Sar-
    Thanks for the encouragement! I’m looking forward to getting in a run with you Saturday morning 🙂 Just make sure the path is flat and that there’s not too much wind. I’m not very aerodynamic.

    And, of course, thanks for reading!
    Love you-
    Jane

  3. kamarah says:

    I agree with Sarah – we ARE runners!! We need to give ourselves credit just for making it to the finish line without passing out. 🙂 By the way, I heard there is a 5K coming up in Grandville sometime mid-June. . . what do you think??? (just kidding – let’s not get too carried away!!)

  4. Lyndsey Dykstra says:

    I’m dying!!! This is too funny! I love the “blaming my time on the clothes” line! Now I understand why I can only PLOD (not even run) down the road!!!

  5. Pingback: Old Dogs and Children « Admissions of a Suburban Philosopher

Leave a Reply

